As we prepare, once again, to reopen after lockdown, we decided to think of some of our favorite places in town that we can’t wait to visit again. This week we are reviewing the Airport Hotel.
Under the direction of Ed Ahr, local pilot and president of Algoma Air Transport, the airport was home to the Porcupine Flying Club. It opened in 1940 and continues to operate as a popular joint in South Porcupine.
The club’s architecture bore some resemblance to the old Canadian blockhouses used in many British forts around the country. The basement is stone while the ground floor was and still is lined with knotty pine panels. The unique fireplace in the living room was made from ore from various Porcupine mines.
The three-story structure was painted cream and green with a copper roof. The top of the building housed a powerful searchlight used to help guide incoming planes over the lake as well as a perfect vantage point for a view of the area. In 1941 the hotel was granted the right to operate as a standard hotel.
This gem is still a favorite gathering place for many. Along with its charm, there are many reminiscent memories attached to this place as well as ghostly tales from within. Whether you came for a wedding, a pint or just to see this place from the street, many agree that this place is a special piece of history for our area.
Each week, the Timmins Museum: National Exhibition Center offers TimminsToday readers a glimpse into the city’s past.
Find out more about what the Timmins Museum has to offer here and read more chronicles to remember here.